Tabula Rasa

From Sonic to Mario to Final Fantasy to Soul Calibur and everything else, talk about videogames here

Moderator: sonic

Saito
Location: The chopper you never saw, behind the gun you never heard, about to fire the shot you never expected

Tabula Rasa

Post by Saito »

DISCLOSURE: I have no affiliation with PlayNC, Destination Games or Richard Garriott. This is not an advert - I just like the game, okay!?}

I started playing this about 1.5 months ago. It's a Sci-Fi MMOG set in the near future where the human race is evacuated from earth in the wake of an attack by a massive alien force. You end up thrown into an intergalactic war on alien worlds against the force that razed earth to the ground, assisted by the native inhabitants and a mysterious and ancient race of noble beings that have been all but wiped out in the war, called the Eloh.

Tabula Rasa is written and overseen by Richard Garriott (aka Lord British), who's accolades include being the father of the 'Ultima' series of games, including Ultima Online, which was one of the original 'modern' MMORPGs.

As for the game itself, it's pretty much as most MMORPGs are apart from it has big guns instead of swords and the like. Eloh 'Logos' abilities replace conventional spells. It's pretty much the standard fare otherwise apart from a few neat little things, like being able to clone your character at any stage (as long as you have a clone credit) and re-spec all their stats as a totally new character, just the ticket for playing around with the class system when you fancy a change :) The game has a look and feel to it that is VERY reminiscent of Starship Troopers. It even has a similarly healthy sense of humor.